Editorial Board

Members of the Demokratizatsiya Editorial Board provide guidance for the overall editorial direction of journal content,  look out for new and promising authors, review manuscripts in their area of expertise, and help identify fundraising opportunities.

Executive Committee

Henry E. Hale, The George Washington University

Marlene Laruelle, The George Washington University

Robert W. Orttung, The George Washington University

Editorial Board

Leon Aron, American Enterprise Institute

Andrew Bennett, Georgetown University

Stephen J. Blank, American Foreign Policy Council

Nicholas Daniloff, Northeastern University

Paula Dobriansky, Harvard University

Gregory Gleason, George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies

Stephen E. Hanson, William & Mary

Olexiy Haran, Kyiv-Mohyla Academy

Eugene Huskey, Stetson University

Andrei Kortunov, New Eurasia Foundation

Andrew Kuchins, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Taras Kuzio, Johns Hopkins University - SAIS

Mart Laar

Gerard Libaridian, University of Michigan (ret.)

Christopher Marsh, USAF Special Operations Command

Michael McFaul, Stanford University

Martha Brill Olcott, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Herman R. Pirchner Jr., American Foreign Policy Council

Richard Rose, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Peter Rutland, Weslyan University

Louise I. Shelley, George Mason University

Stanislau Shushkevich

Peter Solomon, University of Toronto

Sally W. Stoecker, American University

Martin Walker, A.T. Kearney Global Business Policy Council

J. Michael Waller, Center for Security Policy

Distinguished Former Editor

Yuri Shchekochikhin (1992-2003)

Galina Starovoitova (1994-1998)

Alexander N. Yakovlev (1993-2005)

Yegor Gaidar (2005-2009)


Fredo Arias-King